This site uses cookies to improve your experience. To help us insure we adhere to various privacy regulations, please select your country/region of residence. If you do not select a country, we will assume you are from the United States. Select your Cookie Settings or view our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Cookie Settings
Cookies and similar technologies are used on this website for proper function of the website, for tracking performance analytics and for marketing purposes. We and some of our third-party providers may use cookie data for various purposes. Please review the cookie settings below and choose your preference.
Used for the proper function of the website
Used for monitoring website traffic and interactions
Cookie Settings
Cookies and similar technologies are used on this website for proper function of the website, for tracking performance analytics and for marketing purposes. We and some of our third-party providers may use cookie data for various purposes. Please review the cookie settings below and choose your preference.
Strictly Necessary: Used for the proper function of the website
Performance/Analytics: Used for monitoring website traffic and interactions
Each week, I tackle reader questions about building product, driving growth, and accelerating your career. If you’re not a subscriber, here’s what you missed this month: A guide to AI prototyping for productmanagers Introducing Core 4: The best way to measure and improve your product velocity Top angel investors in the U.S.
To help you with this, we compiled a list of the top mobile in-app feedback tools of 2022. Incorporating these tools into your customer experience tech stack will drive more engagement, gather high-quality customer feedback, and help inform your product roadmap. If you don’t, you need to get those in place – and fast.
What will be the biggest Product Trends in 2022? Interestingly – they seem completely different from the product trends we’ve identified for 2021 – including Product Led Growth , the rise of a Growth ProductManagement Role, chatbots, or gamification. Will 2022 be the year of Product Ops?
Working as a product trio can be a major transformation. Making the shift to product trios involves changing everything from the coworkers you collaborate with most closely and your communication style to the mindset you bring to work every day. – Tweet This The product team at Botify knows this all too well. What works well?
When designing an onboarding system , it’s more efficient to look at the productonboarding best practices established by other businesses than it is to try to do it all alone. To help out with this here are some of the best practices you should keep in mind when building your user onboarding process.
Looking for productmetrics that can offer you better product growth insights ? SaaS productmetrics are like a compass for product growth managers, which can guide them where to steer the product. But picking the right metrics is no easy task. What are productmetrics?
Do you follow any productmanager blogs? Would you like to discover new ones that will give you valuable insights into productmanagement ? In our article, we introduce 20 of our favorite productmanager blogs that every product pro should follow, regardless of their experience.
UX KPIs, or user experience key performance indicators, are essential numerical data points that are used to track, measure, and compare the experience users have with your SaaS product. So, if you’re a productmanager looking to significantly improve your UX efforts and provide actionable insights to your UX team, read on!
Do you plan to design your product strategy around some examples of success metrics? As your strategies and objectives change, so should your success metrics. You can use different metrics to measure different aspects of your business, such as marketing, customer success, and productmanagement.
If you want your SaaS to survive (and thrive), it’s critically important to avoid pitfalls and major user onboarding mistakes. So in this article, we’re going to deep dive into 7 of the most common user onboarding mistakes – and map out tools and tactics to help you avoid them. What is user onboarding?
To help you in your first 90 days on the job, we’ve compiled a collection of some of the best productmanagement resources. The collection includes our favorite conferences, podcasts, blogs, books, newsletters, courses, and Slack groups for productmanagers. o get the sponge mode on and dive in!
Then how do you determine the best one for customer segmentation analysis to uncover product growth opportunities? This data enables productmanagers, customer success, and marketing teams to detect friction points and unravel product growth opportunities. How many customer segmentation tools are out there?
Is your customer success platform up to scratch for 2022? On these terms, the best customer success platforms for onboarding are Userpilot , Pendo, and Chameleon. For product analytics, choose Heap, MixPanel, or Amplitude. Allow you to track and report on the metrics that matter most to your business. Userpilot dashboard.
Which Product Trends will take 2023 by storm? After the overnight success of Chat OpenAI, it’s no wonder predictions related to using AI and machine learning to increase our understanding of user behavior , greater automation of low-level tasks , and GPT-4 dominate ProductManagers’ and Marketers’ projections for the upcoming year.
Wondering what product success metrics you should use in 2022? Measuring product success during the early stages of your SaaS business can help you spend wisely and reduce wasted energy. Today, let’s find out how you can leverage product success metrics to add more value for your users and drive retention.
If you’ve been in the product and SaaS space for a bit, there’s no way you haven’t heard the term product-led growth strategy. We also explore its benefits and different ways productmanagers can approach it. If the product is good enough and drives value for customers, they are happy to pay.
A product leader’s number-one responsibility involves cutting through the hype and helping leadership understand where that company sits within the value delivery system of a new product. where do product leaders start? This is still very much a niche product (even if it’s exploding within its own niche). With Web 3.0,
Both these metrics are crucial for getting product growth insights into the financial health and sustainability of your SaaS business. The LTV:CAC ratio evaluates the financial health and efficiency of your product marketing and customer acquisition efforts. Your CAC for 2022 would thus be = $100,000/1,200 = $83.33.
We chatted with Ann Marie McNamara, Beable’s Senior ProductManager, about how the company used Userpilot analytics and feedback features to enhance user experience and engagement. If you’re looking for a robust product growth platform with advanced feedback and analytics features, book the demo!
Whether you're already using Whatfix and are not happy with it, or you're just looking for the right digital adoption for your use case (user vs. employee onboarding) – we have the right answer for you! Whatfix is a digital adoption platform for both employee and user onboarding, aimed at larger enterprise companies.
Increasing investments make it easier than ever to launch a new business, but the proliferation of new products in the market means it has never been more challenging to achieve growth. Make the product itself a key player in the customer lifecycle and experience. . At the center of this new philosophy is product-led growth (PLG).
As I’m writing this post, 76,942 employees in tech startups have been laid off due to the recession in 2022 alone (according to Layoffs.fyi Tracker). What are VCs looking for in SaaS companies in 2022? Which metrics are the most important? TL;DR – Product Drive 2022 in a nutshell. What led to this situation?
Making the decision to sunset a product can be difficult. When your efforts to improve user engagement fail, killing a feature or the entire product might be what you need. Never make gut-feel decisions when deciding to shelve a product. Take a look at your revenue – is your team able to still sell the product?
The net promoter score is more than just a vanity metric. Getting clarity on feedback can mean the difference between changing up productfeatures vs a few in-app guidance experiences. And yet, very few actually make any use of their NPS (other than bragging about it in meetings): Social media post mocking NPS vanity metrics.
I have been fortunate to have joined the ProductPlan team as the SVP of ProductManagement in the latter half of 2022. As I experienced the whirlwind of onboarding and meeting my wonderful colleagues, I also spent much time thinking about the future of productmanagement and the space at large.
What are the 7 laws of product GTM? How can productmanagers leverage them to orchestrate successful product launches ? These are some of the questions that Spencer Grover , Product Marketing Manager at Salesforce , answered in his recent presentation at Userpilot’s Product Drive 2022 conference.
The churn prevention strategies discussed in this article will help with your product engagement strategy. In addition, you’ll also learn how to calculate churn for your SaaS and see the three main reasons why SaaS customers stop interacting with your product and what you can do to prevent that. Examine your best users.
The results are increased engagement, increased productivity, and better solutions. Manager, Customer Success at Slack and CEO of Customer Success Network at Slack. Even in just a few interviews, you can have enough to start experimenting with new features. Onboarding is not a singular but a continuous mode of operation.
We’ll explore its features, pricing, and offer a comprehensive review to aid in your decision-making process. TL;DR UserIQ is a good choice for proactive customer service and it comes with features such as tooltips, modals, in-app resource center, and interactive walkthroughs. Let’s get started!
Are you looking for the best SaaS blogs and influencers to follow in 2022? We covered the best blogs on SaaS growth, product marketing , UX analytics, venture capital, and sales. The Userpilot blog provides well-researched, in-depth articles on user onboarding, product growth, product growth, user experience, and so much more.
If you are the new product leader of your company, your company might be in product leadership debt. I had already been blogging for a while when she was born, so some of you might remember me writing about how I applied productmanagement practices in the many decisions I needed to make around her birth , for example.
How can productmanagers use data to prioritize initiatives that really fuel growth? These are only a couple of the questions that Claudiu Murariu, the CEO and Co-Founder of InnerTrends , covered in his presentation at the 2022Product Drive Summit. It’s a common practice to build features that customers request.
from 2022 to 2031. As an industry in growth, some of the most valuable data pouring in that fintech companies can focus on comes from product usage. To make better sense of behavioral data, fintech companies need robust product analytics frameworks. billion globally in 2021, and it’s projected to reach $22.9
New Value-Driven Metrics. You will see it in the way customers talk about the product. More and more, the efforts of Customer Success Managers change essential, value-driven metrics for the better. If your intent over the next year is on performance metrics, there are two very specific new laws that you should focus on:
Or is there another in-app onboarding software that is superior than the two? In this article, we explore the must-have features of no-code growth tools and thoroughly compare a few top ones, so you select the best choice for your company’s needs. It’s easy to track and analyze product usage with Appcues.
Since time immemorial, when a CEO asks a PM at Product Review, “what do you need to 10X users/revenue?”, “what will make you go faster?”, Everyone wants to make sure these engineers have a great onboarding experience. You dutifully give a heads-up to your manager (usually a Director/ VP Product) in your next 1:1.
And is there a better in-app onboarding software that would better fit your needs? TL;DR Interactive user guides and walkthroughs are important tools for improving user onboarding and feature adoption. product usage analytics. Which tool is better – Pendo or Whatfix – for interactive user guides?
And is there a better in-app onboarding software that would better fit your needs? TL;DR Interactive user guides are a set of different UI patterns that help customers get acquainted with the product and learn more about its use cases. Spekit is another digital adoption platform that solely provides employee onboarding.
In short, developer marketing is more than just capturing the attention of software developers and getting them to use your product. Developer marketing is a set of strategies and tactics designed to connect, attract, and incentivize developers to adopt your product. Let’s get started! What is developer marketing?
Looking for a good user onboarding tool and wondering if Spekit is the best option for your SaaS company? Spekit is a digital adoption platform that’s more focused on providing employee onboarding rather than user onboarding. Spekit for user onboarding. Spekit is not a truly user onboarding tool.
The world of software is crowded with a variety of product marketing tools that are ‘supposed’ to transform your workflow. Product Marketing tools that can add real value to your business do exist, but finding the right software in such a noisy environment can be challenging. Product Marketing Tools Overview. Ready to dive in?
Every new product launch is equal parts intimidating and exciting. As the market becomes increasingly saturated with similar SaaS products, your product launch can easily get lost in the noise. Therefore, you need a solid product launch plan to ensure your product isn’t among the 95% of new products that fail each year.
How to Keep on top of Trends that Matter to ProductManagers Decide when to care about trends and when to sit back and watch what happens next Trends and the product lifecycle Imagine your product strategy stayed exactly the same for the next 10 years. What would happen? Others will fail. And not all trends matter.
Since 2020, fitness, productivity, messaging, telehealth, food, and banking mobile apps have worked overtime to remove as much friction from daily life as possible. could productivity keep up if everyone in the office worked from home? Making core features easily accessible. Being able to login to work from anywhere?
We organize all of the trending information in your field so you don't have to. Join 96,000+ users and stay up to date on the latest articles your peers are reading.
You know about us, now we want to get to know you!
Let's personalize your content
Let's get even more personalized
We recognize your account from another site in our network, please click 'Send Email' below to continue with verifying your account and setting a password.
Let's personalize your content